Wednesday, January 6, 2021 - 8:14 am 

Six area residents have submitted paperwork to run for three seats on the Board of Education.

Brian Bonti (Area II), Matthew Thompson (Area IV), Katie McCallum (Area IV), Gail Shepler (Area IV), Matthew Niesen (Area V) and Simrnjit Seerha (Area V) are candidates. Thompson, McCallum and Shepler will run in a primary on Tuesday, Feb. 16 with the top two vote-getters advancing to the general election on Tuesday, April 6.

None of the three incumbents -- Sean Hyland (Area II), Todd Smith (Area IV) and Anne Bauer (Area V) are running for re-election.

Area II includes the Village of Cross Plains. Area IV includes the City of Middleton, the Town of Westport, and portions of the Town of Middleton. Area V includes the Central area, is bordered by Evergreen Road and extends north to Schneider Road and Pleasant View Road on the east; Enchanted Valley Road extending south on the west end; Schneider Road and Enchanted Valley Road extending west to County Highway P on the north; and Old Sauk Road on the south.

Candidates must live within the area they represent, although there are no such restrictions placed on voters.

Each year, three Board of Education seats are up for election. Residents are able to vote for each of the Board of Education seats, rather than only the one from their area. Board members are scheduled to begin their duties at the regular meeting on Monday, April 26.

The MCPASD Board of Education consists of nine citizens from specific geographic areas of the District, who serve a term of three years and/or until their successors are elected and qualified. Terms are arranged so that three new seats are open for election each year. Board of Education members are selected from specific geographic areas, but represent the District as a whole.