Student named Coca-Cola Scholarship semifinalist

Friday, December 4, 2020 - 2:07 pm

MHS senior Emery Engling had been named a 2021 Coca-Cola Scholar semifinalist.

More than 99,000 applications from across the United States were submitted and only about 1,600 were selected as semifinalists, including just 25 in Wisconsin. Engling was just one of two Dane County students selected. In January, 250 will be selected as regional finalists and 150 will be named Coca-Cola Scholars later in 2021.

Shelby Bacus, a 2014 MHS graduate, was named a Coca-Cola Scholar, while Lauren Dahler was a semifinalist in 2018 and Anaka Srinivas was a semifinalist in 2019.

Engling was one of 18 MHS seniors named a National Merit semifinalist earlier this year. He also finished second in the Hospitality and Tourism Professional Selling series at the Wisconsin DECA State Development Conference in March. He also serves as the public relations officer for Wisconsin HOSA 

The Coca-Cola Scholars award was established in 1986. The award is given to students who demonstrate a commitment to academic excellence and civic engagement in school and in the community.

The Coca‐Cola Scholars Foundation, a joint effort of Coca‐Cola Bottlers across America and The Coca‐Cola Company, is one of the largest corporate‐sponsored, achievement‐based scholarship programs of its kind in the United States.

The foundation has awarded more than $70 million in scholarships to approximately 6,300 recipients.

Visit the Coca‐Cola Scholars Foundation website to learn more.