Printer-friendly version

Middleton-Cross Plains Area School District students and staff strive to be leaders in environmental awareness and sustainable practices.

Members of the District's Sustainability Committee have developed a school energy management policy/guidelines and education plan utilizing a grant from the Wisconsin K-12 Energy Education Program (KEEP).

According to its draft report, the plan "provides a framework to help fulfill our commitment to the efficient use of energy resources, to operate our facilities, to reduce the District's reliance on non-renewable energy sources and to engage our students, staff, parents and community in facilitating a cultural change related to energy use."    

Members of the Sustainability Committee include elementary & high school faculty. Members are: Deb Weitzel, Nora Montgomery, Debi Dennis, Susan Scudder, Amy Callies, Wendy Coyne, Amanda Crim & Kate Arnold) custodial/maintenance staff (Rodney “Peanuts” Esser & Bill Fredickson) and Facilities Services Manager Bill Eberhardt. District Energy Manager Neal Bickler and Assistant Superintendent for Business Services Tom Wohlleber head the committee.

The committee is asking for feedback on the draft report as the District moves forward with its plan. Please email feedback or questions to Neal Bickler,

Energy downloads

Park Elementary's Energy Savings Program

Related Links

Visit the City of Middleton Sustainability Page

Read about Middleton High School's activities on the Environmental Education in Wisconsin website

Check out Berkeley's Carbon Footprint Calculator