'Urinetown' nominated for 19 Tommy Awards

Printer-friendly version

The MHS spring musical "Urinetown" was nominated for 19 Tommy Awards.

The award recipients are expected to be announced later this month. The Tommy Awards Show will be held on June 11 at the Overture Center.

Meanwhile, MHS learned recnently that the musical will be showcased at the Tommy Awards. The will perform a 5-minute medley. In addition, it was announced that junior company member Zella Roth will receive a Tommy Spirit Award.

"It was a great experience for our students and an honor to perform,'' director Kendra Dando said.

To see the entire medly, please visit Wisconsin Public Television's Facebook page before June 19. The MHS medley can be found at about the 48-minute mark.

The musical, which was performed May 4-6 at the Performing Arts Center, was nominated for outstanding musical, outstanding ensemble and outstanding orchestra. Four students were nominated for outstanding lead performances: Kylie Peters (Hope), Leo Rossmiller (Bobby Strong), Seamus Fleischmann (Caldwell B. Caldwell) and Eleanor Chmiak (Pennywise).

In addition, four students were nominated for outstanding supporting performance: Killian Powers (Hot Blades Harry), Kyia Gundlach (Becky Two-Shoes), Nick Chiaverini (Officer Lockstock) and Phoebe Miller (Little Sally).

Others who were nominated from the musical were:

Outstanding dance performance: Killian Powers

Outstanding direction: Kendra Dando

Outstanding musical direction: Justin Wilder

Outstanding choreography: Sara Bartlett

Outstanding stage management: Mark Hutson

Outstanding scenic design: Pat Motiff

Outstanding lighting design: Kaden Mettel

Outstanding costume design: Kris Riechgels, Claudine Loop, Veronica Kurr and Peyton McHenry

"I am so proud of these performers and our production team for their hard work and dedication to this show,'' Dando said.

Dando was recognized for outstanding direction for "The 25th Annual Putnman County Spelling Bee" last year. 

The awards are named for local Broadway star Tom Wopat and encourage, recognize and honor excellence in high school musical theater.

To learn more, please visit the Tommy Awards website.